7th World Antimony Forum

June 13-14, 2019
Changsha, Hunan, China

7th Refractory & Abrasive Materials Summit 2019

May 23-24, 2019
Qingdao, Shandong, China

10th Aluminum Raw Materials Summit

May 16-17, 2019
Zhengzhou, Henan, China

11th Rare Earth Summit

May 9-10, 2019
Qingdao, Shandong, China

8th Magnesium Summit

April 11-12, 2019
Zhuhai, Guangdong, China

12th World InBiGeGa Forum

March 14-15, 2019
Zhuhai, Guangdong, China

6th World Manganese & Selenium Forum

May 21-22, 2018
Hainan Sanya, China

6th World Antimony Forum

April 23-24, 2018
Zhangjiajie, China

6th International Refractories & Abrasives Summit

April 19-20, 2018
Beijing, China
WAB is developing Missira Bauxite Project in Guinea
----Interview with Michael Nesbitt
Managing Director
West African Bauxite
West African Bauxite SA is developing the Missira Bauxite project in conjunction with its local partner Camen Resources. Missira is located 25km northeast of Sangaredi. Our Environmental impact Study has been approved, and the application for a Mining Licence has been submitted and is awaiting approval.

Asian Metal: According to China Customs, in the first five months of this year, China imported around 23 million tonnes of bauxite from Guinea, up by 36% YOY. How do you think of the big increase? What are the advantages of Guinean bauxite?

Michael Nesbitt: Guinea has some of the best quality bauxite in the world, and with significant quantities. Guinea will continue to be in the spotlight moving forward, and will start to replace some traditional bauxite jurisdictions.

Asian Metal: Based on Asian Metal Database, China consumed around 7.8 million tonnes of imported bauxite in June, 2019, up by 29% YOY, and China's dependency on imported bauxite reached 51.5% in June, up from around 42% late last year. More and more Chinese inland alumina refineries from Henan and Shanxi provinces turned to imported bauxite.
Will the change continue in the coming two years? What is your opinion?

Michael Nesbitt: I’d say so, given the quantity and quality of Guinean bauxite, and the decreasing supply in China, I think more refineries will turn to Guinea.

Asian Metal: In the second half of this year, there might be five new bauxite producers in Guinea. Regarding Missira Project of West African Bauxite, when will you launch the project? How about the infrastructure construction progress, including road and port?

Michael Nesbitt: We expect to have the mining permit in hand shortly, and would look to develop the project soon thereafter. There are large infrastructure projects that are being undertaken, including a rail only 30km from our project.

Asian Metal: Would you please briefly introduce the identified reserves, designed annual production capacity and bauxite quality of Missira Project?

Michael Nesbitt: We have 728 Mdt indicated and inferred (JORC) bauxite AAl2O3 40.6%min, including 89 Mdt bauxite AAl2O3 45.4%min, with RxSiO2 of 1.3%max. The initial annual production capacity will be 3 million tonnes, which will improve to 5 and 10 million tonnes in the future.

Asian Metal: Do you have any other partners for the investment? How do you think of the total budget for the project investment?

Michael Nesbitt: WAB is partnered with Guinean mining expert Camen Resources. Camen and WAB have worked together for the past 5 years to establish the resource and develop the Missira Project. The budget will depend, possibly 70 million US dollars.

Asian Metal: Regarding the sales market, have you contacted any potential buyers in China or other countries?

Michael Nesbitt: We have been contacted by a few Chinese buyers and traders but haven’t actively sought out buyers yet. We are happy to discuss with anyone looking for bauxite, or looking to secure their own supply of bauxite.

Asian Metal: Some bauxite producers in Guinea are planning to build alumina refineries. Will you have the plan?

Michael Nesbitt: We have discussed possibly building smaller scale refineries, but our priority now is to build a mine and export bauxite. Value added is always preferred, but we are taking this one step at a time.

Asian Metal: In early July, the price for Guinean bauxite dropped to USD52-54/t CIF China from USD55-57/t late last year. How do you think of the price trend in H2 this year?

Michael Nesbitt: It’s always hard to speculate on price, as so many variables are at play, but my sense is that the price should stabilize above USD50/t.

Asian Metal: Do you have any suggestions for a sustainable and healthy Guinean bauxite development?

Michael Nesbitt: By tapping some of the dedicated environmental and social sustainability experts that are available in Guinea to help implement ESIS plans, Guinea will be able to ensure a long and sustainable future for its mining sector.

• 钼铁 60%min 中国出厂(10000)  02-03|钼精矿 45%min 中国出厂(150)  02-03|钙锭 还原 98%min 中国出厂(-500)  02-03|氧化钴 72%min 中国交到(-5)  02-03|钼铁 60%min 俄罗斯仓库(90)  02-03|氧化钼 50%min 中国出厂(150)  02-03|硅铬 Si 42%min, Cr 30%min 中国出厂(300)  02-03|四钼酸铵 56%min 中国出厂(9000)  02-03|钼酸钠 99%min 中国出厂(6000)  02-03|钼铁 60%min 印度交到(110)  02-03|七钼酸铵 54%min 中国出厂(9000)  02-03|金属钴 99.8%min 鹿特丹仓库(-0.5)  02-03|钴酸锂 Co 60%min 中国交到(-11)  02-03|氧化钼 57%min 中国到岸(0.9)  02-03
  • 
    • 基 本 金 属
    • 小 金 属
    • 铁 合 金
    • 稀 土 金 属
    • 耐 火 材 料
    • 炼 钢 原 料
    • 普 通 钢 材
    • 不 锈 钢 材
    • 特 殊 钢 材
    
    
    西非铝土矿公司着手开发几内亚米塞拉铝土矿项目
    ----专访迈克尔·耐斯比特
    总经理
    西非铝土矿公司
    西非铝土矿公司(West African Bauxite)和其几内亚合作伙伴卡盟资源(Camen Resources)正着手开发几内亚米塞拉(Missira)铝土矿项目。该项目位于几内亚博凯大区桑加雷迪(Sangaredi)东北25公里处,项目环评已经获批,采矿证申请已经提交等待审批。

    亚洲金属网:据中国海关统计,今年1-5月份中国自几内亚进口铝土矿约2,300万吨,同比增加36%左右。您认为几内亚铝土矿主要优势是什么?

    迈克尔:全球来看,几内亚铝土矿整体质量优良,而且储量最大。我认为几内亚铝土矿供应量会继续增加,并取代传统铝土矿来源国。

    亚洲金属网:亚洲金属网数据中心统计,今年6月份中国对进口铝土矿消费量达到780万吨左右,同比增幅高达29%,中国对进口铝土矿依赖度增至51.5%,而去年底仅为42%左右。河南及山西等更多内陆氧化铝厂开始逐渐转向进口铝土矿。您如何看待这一变化?

    迈克尔:由于几内亚铝土矿品位优良、储量巨大,而且中国国产铝土矿供应紧张,我认为中国将来会有更多氧化铝厂转向几内亚铝土矿。

    亚洲金属网:贵公司米塞拉铝土矿项目何时投产?目前道路及码头等基础设施建设进展如何?

    迈克尔:我们将很快拿到采矿许可,之后将尽快投产。我们矿区周边的基础设施建设目前正在进行,包括一段30公里的铁路。

    亚洲金属网:您能否简单介绍一下矿区铝土矿探明储量、设计年产能及铝土矿指标?

    迈克尔:铝土矿预估储量约7.28亿干吨,有效Al2O3 40.6%min,其中有效Al2O3 45.4%min铝土矿储量约8,900万干吨,活性SiO2 1.3%max。初期设计年产能300万吨,后期逐步提升至500万吨和1,000万吨。

    亚洲金属网:该项目现在有哪些合作伙伴?预计投资费用如何?

    迈克尔:五年前,我们西非铝土矿公司就已经和几内亚矿业公司卡盟资源合作开发该项目,预计需要投资7,000万美元左右。

    亚洲金属网:对于下游市场开发,贵公司是否已经开始和中国或其它国家买家进行接触?

    迈克尔:中国部分氧化铝厂及贸易商已经主动和我们取得联系,但目前尚未达成最终合作协议。我们很高兴和中国潜在买家接触,为他们提供铝土矿安全供应保障。

    亚洲金属网:几内亚部分铝土矿生产商目前也计划在当地建设氧化铝厂。贵公司是否也有计划?

    迈克尔:我们的确探讨过建设冶金级氧化铝厂,但是目前我们主要精力还是铝土矿开发,我们会逐步推进。

    亚洲金属网:7月初,几内亚铝土矿中国到岸价格在52-54美元/吨,而去年底达55-57美元/吨。您如何看待今年下半年几内亚铝土矿价格走势?

    迈克尔:影响价格因素很多,准确判断难度较大,不过我认为下半年价格会在50美元以上保持稳定。