• Ferro-silicon 75%min In warehouse Pittsburgh(0.3)  10-18|Silicon Metal 5-5-3 Delivered Europe(500)  10-18|Silicon Metal 4-4-1 Delivered Europe(500)  10-18|Ferro-phosphorus 23%min FOB China(30)  10-18|Ferro-manganese Mn 78%min, C 8%max Delivered Europe(50)  10-18|Chromium Oxide Green 99%min EXW China(900)  10-18|Chromium Metal 99%min FOB China(300)  10-18|Pet Coke S 2%max EXW China(-100)  10-18|Iron Ore Fine 65%min EXW Laiwu(30)  10-18|Silicon Metal 4-4-1 In port India(15)  10-18|Nickel Cathode Norilsk 99.96%min In port China(4300)  10-18|Nickel Cathode 99.96%min EXW China(4300)  10-18|Magnesia E.F. 97%min H-Ca FOB China(30)  10-18|Silicon Metal 5-5-3 In port India(14)  10-18
  • 
    
    Ferrosilicon prices in North America to go up in H2
    ----Interview with Barry Lazar
    President
    MEDIMA LLC
    MEDIMA, which was acquired by Traxys in May 2020, is one of the largest ferroalloy suppliers in the North American market. Headquartered in Luxembourg, Traxys is engaged in the sourcing, trading, marketing and distribution of non-ferrous metals, ferro-alloys, minerals, industrial raw materials and energy. Traxys is a physical commodity trader and merchant in the metals and natural resources sectors. Its logistics, marketing, distribution, supply chain management and trading activities are conducted by over 400 employees in over 20 offices worldwide.

    Asian Metal: Hello Mr. Lazar, please briefly introduce your company.

    Barry Lazar: MEDIMA has been engaged in providing ferroalloys to steel makers and foundries for fifteen years, and it was purchased by Traxys in May last year.

    Asian Meal: How do the long-term orders and spot orders approximately account for your business in the North America market?

    Barry Lazar: We focus on the North American market. For North America, the majority of contracts usually are annual formula contracts based on changing monthly or quarterly index. For me, the index contracts probably account for as much as 80% of the contracts in our North America market, and spot deals accounts around 20%.

    Asian Metal: Are there any changes or differences this year under the consecutively tight supply in the North America for the long-term contracts and spot contracts?

    Barry Lazar: In general, the large ferrosilicon producers operating in North America tend to focus on booking index contracts, but this year we did see more fixed-price contracts than we had seen in the past. There has been a definite trend that more and more contracts are being signed with fixed prices. Our suppliers refused to participate in index contracts as they did not view the index as reflective of the market. Moreover, previously most customers purchased on annual index based formula contracts, and this year they are taking more than suppliers expected. More fixed-price contracts were signed with shorter periods due to the short supply and crazily increased ocean freight. For us, at least half of my long-term contracts were signed with a shorter period based on fixed prices. Over time, the index has started to mean less and less as suppliers refused to offer on index. The main index historically CRU used for ferroalloys in the USA began to not reflect the reality on the market. The trend looks to continue.

    Asian Metal: How about the steel mills' operation rates in Q2, compared last Q2?

    Barry Lazar:It appears that we are emerging from the COVID shutdowns of last year, and business sentiment dramatically improved and the steel prices have aggressively increased as well. According to the related data, the crude steel output in North America reached about 10.1milliont in May 2021, up by 47.7% against last May, leading to the sharp increases in steel manufacturing. Foundries are also very strong, and we see dramatic improvements across both foundry and steel segments.

    Asian Metal: Where does the imported ferrosilicon in the US origin from? Are there any obvious changes of import volume from each country during the first half of this year?

    Barry Lazar: The ferrosilicon in the US mainly origins from Russia, Brazil, Malaysia and other countries as well domestic producers. For the spot market in the US in the last few years, Brazilians supply large quantity of the whole amount in the spot market, and Brazilian ferrosilicon export volume to the US began to decrease earlier this year stimulated by the increased demand from steel mills in Brazil, and the cheap Brazilian offers started to dry up. Additionally, logistics costs escalated especially for container rates and ferrosilicon prices moved sharply up. Additionally, a demand improvement in the European markets also led to more demand from Europe and so ferrosilicon price has risen sharply to its present market price. The major supplier for long-term contracts to this market has been RFA in the last few years, and the Russian Government plans to impose export tariff of 15% for ferrous and non-ferrous metals from August 1th to December 31th. As the largest importer into the US market, the export tariff on Russian ferrosilicon would have an effect on the Russian pricing in the US market. Suppliers are using this to push prices higher.

    Asian Metal:Current prices of ferrosilicon 75%min 10-50mm in the US spot market hover at USD1.45-1.50/lb Si D.D.P (June 20), reaching the highest point in the past 10 years. Do you think the price would go up further?

    Barry Lazar:I do believe prices of ferrosilicon in the North America could still move up higher than this level as we have limited spot business in this market. The scary thing is that almost all traders don't have ferrosilicon stocks in warehouse in USA and so once the producers can't offer or already pre-sold out all outputs then it could be very difficult to locate material. Traders are not speculating at this price level, and they're not bringing in unsold ferrosilicon which means the buffer stock of unsold inventory in the US warehouses has disappeared.

    Asian Metal: How do you balance the strong demand and the short spot supply due to the difficulty of replenishing stocks? Are you holding back from selling?

    Barry Lazar:I think most companies now have moved to a back-to-back sales strategy from selling stocks. So if we get an inquiry for ferrosilicon, we are only offering if we have firm support of material. Normal annual customers purchasing based on long-term contracts all seem to be taking large quantities and running hard, which means we have less material for spot opportunities. We are all selling what we have at these prices. For me, the only question is replacement, and we sell back to back on offers, and it's too expensive to contemplate a sales strategy.

    Asian Metal: How do you assess the ferrosilicon demand and price trend in the second half of 2021?

    Barry Lazar:It appears that demand will maintain keeps strong going forward in H2 2021 and we don't see any decrease in demand. The steel production keeps very strong in North America stimulated by the coming in infrastructure bills. So far we don't see a break in the high logistic costs, and demand is strong across many different markets such as steel mill and foundries. We don't see any large negatives although inflation worries are starting to emerge and the inflation will or should have an effect at some stage, and I still believe prices of ferrosilicon 75%min in the US would go up in the second half of 2021.

    Asian Metal: What's your plan of your company for future? Are there any new industries you will be involved in?

    Barry Lazar: We are focusing on maintaining our regular clients and suppliers especially under the world-wide tight spot supply situation. We're always interested in new industries that fit with our current business and explore them if they make sense.

    Asian Metal:Thank you for your time Mr. Lazar.

    Barry Lazar: Thank you.
      Copyright © Asian Metal Corp. All rights reserved.

• 三氧化二砷 99%min 中国离岸 (-15)  01-19|铬铁 Cr 60%min, C 0.1%max 匹兹堡仓库(0.09)  01-19|氧化铝 98.5%min 中国出厂(80)  01-19|氧化铝 澳洲 98.5%min 中国港口(80)  01-19|金属砷 99%min 中国离岸(-40)  01-19|焊锡丝 Sn 99%min, Cu 0.7%max 中国出厂(8)  01-19|金属砷 99%min 中国出厂(-250)  01-19|硅铬 Si 42%min, Cr 30%min 中国出厂(300)  01-19|三氧化二砷 99%min 中国出厂 (-100)  01-19|铬铁 Cr 60%min, C 8%max 匹兹堡仓库(0.04)  01-19|焊锡丝 Sn 99%min, Ag 0.3%min, Cu 0.7%max 中国出厂(8)  01-19|氧化镧 99.999%min 中国离岸(0.15)  01-19|磷酸铁锂 Li 3.9%min 中国交到(3000)  01-19|碳酸锂 99%min 中国交到(8000)  01-19
  • 
    • 基 本 金 属
    • 小 金 属
    • 铁 合 金
    • 稀 土 金 属
    • 耐 火 材 料
    • 炼 钢 原 料
    • 普 通 钢 材
    • 不 锈 钢 材
    • 特 殊 钢 材
    
    
    下半年北美市场硅铁价格将上涨
    ----专访巴里·拉萨尔
    总裁
    美国美帝玛(MEDIMA)贸易公司
    美帝玛(MEDIMA)是北美市场钢铁及主要行业原材料的主要供货商之一。2020年5月被优利时北美公司收购。优利时总部位于卢森堡,在全世界拥有员工400余人,拥有二十多家国际办公室。该公司是专门从事矿石、自然资源、黑色金属和有色金属的国际贸易的公司,业务范围涵盖物流、市场营销、供应链管理、贸易等。

    亚洲金属网:你好拉萨尔先生,请简要介绍贵公司。

    巴里·拉萨尔:过去十五年,MEDIMA 为北美钢厂及铸造厂提供原材料,是北美市场主要供货商之一。2020年5月被优利时北美公司收购。

    亚洲金属网:对贵公司而言,北美市场上的长协订单及现货订单量各能占多少?

    巴里·拉萨尔:我主要面向北美市场。通常北美市场上,大部分订单都是长协,以每月/季度浮动基准价签订,我们公司长协订单量能占80%之多,现货订单仅约20%。

    亚洲金属网:今年北美市场供货持续紧缺,长协订单及现货订单量表现有哪些具体变化?

    巴里·拉萨尔:整体上,今年北美主流硅铁生产商更倾向于按价格指数预售产量, 但本年度我发现,长协订单中,锁定价格的订单量比浮动价格长协订单较以往几年增加,且按锁定价格签单已明显成为一种主流趋势。我们的供货商拒绝按价格指数签单,因为它没有真实反映市场。另外,过去按价格指数签年度长协的客户,今年的采购量比我们供应商预期的要多。由于现货少,海域费飙升,往年的半年度长协变成季度长协,季度长协变成月度长协,且以锁定价格方式签单,这种订单量不断增加。对我们而言,至少有一半的长协订单,周期缩短,并以固定价格签订。随着时间推移,曾经是北美铁合金主流价格指数的CRU并未真实反映市场,长协价格指数参考价值越来越小,此趋势将会持续。

    亚洲金属网:第二季度北美钢厂及铸造厂的开工率同比表现如何?

    巴里·拉萨尔:很明显2020年疫情期间钢厂关停,2021年开始我们从疫情中复苏,当前经济环境环境显著改善,钢价大幅走高,钢厂开工率不断上涨。根据相关数据显示,2021年5月份北美粗钢产量为一千万吨之余,较去年同期会上涨47.7%。北美市场对原材料需求显著增加,我的所有客户的需求量都超过往常。铸造厂的需求也很强,钢厂、铸造企业对原材料需求都有明显增加。

    亚洲金属网:美国硅铁进口来源国主要有哪些?2021年上半年各国进口硅铁在数量价格上有什么变化?

    巴里·拉萨尔:美国市场硅铁来源主要是俄罗斯、巴西、马来西亚以及其他国家及美国当地硅铁生产商。巴西在过去几年一直是北美硅铁现货市场的主流来源国。2021年初,由于巴西当地的钢厂开工率不断提高,北美市场巴西硅铁供货量逐渐减少,价格不断攀升。同时,由于巴西至美国海运费一涨再涨,一柜难求,加剧巴西硅铁出口价格攀升。欧洲市场需求提升,巴西硅铁同时流向欧洲,导致美国市场现货供应更加紧张。 RFA 过去几年是北美市场最大的硅铁供货商。俄罗斯政府计划自2021年8月1日至2021年12月31日对黑色及有色金属征收15%的出口关税,现在美国供货商正在以此为由,推动价格上涨。

    亚洲金属网:当前美国市场硅铁75%min现货价格维持在1.45-1.50/磅硅交到 (6月20日),是过去近十年来最高点,您认为还会涨吗?

    巴里·拉萨尔:我认为硅铁现货价格将在此基础上再上涨一些,因为当前市场上现货稀少。更可怕的是现在贸易商手里在巴尔的摩或匹兹堡仓库没有库存,一旦硅铁厂家不能供货或期货已售罄,美国当地的供货链将会脱节。当前现货市场价格并不是贸易商在投机,而是真正缺货导致,贸易商甚至无法获得未来三个月的远期交货,这表明了美国仓库里的常规缓冲库存已消耗殆尽。

    亚洲金属网:下游需求强劲,但补货困难,现货供应稀少,有现货询盘时,怎么平衡供求关系?会惜售吗?

    巴里·拉萨尔:我认为大部分贸易商当前已经从原来卖库存模式转成背靠背。在收到询盘的情况下,我们首先确定是否有货供应,然后才是报价。现在我的年度长协客户采购量都上涨,且都面临补货困难问题,因此我们现货供应更加紧缺。对我们而言,补货是唯一考虑的问题,现在有多少货就卖多少,全都是背靠背交易,现在行情下,绞尽脑汁考虑销售策略得不偿失。

    亚洲金属网:您怎样预测2021年下半年硅铁需求情况及价格走势?

    巴里·拉萨尔:因为当前各个行业像钢厂、铸造业需求都非常强劲,且第三季度需求将维持当前高位。当前运输费用居高不下,且没有停歇迹象,我认为下半年硅铁价格仍有上涨空间。尽管短期内出现通货膨胀,将会对部分行业产生一定影响,但是依然持乐观态度。我认为下半年价格会继续上涨。

    亚洲金属网:您对公司未来的计划是什么?有新增业务领域吗?

    巴里·拉萨尔:目前还是维护老客户和供应商,尤其是在全球范围内供货紧缺的情况下。对于适合的业务领域,我们永远敞开大门。

    亚洲金属网:谢谢拉萨尔先生。

    巴里·拉萨尔:谢谢。